Russell Cook of Chapin returns to SCICU board

October 9, 2013

COLUMBIA — Russell D. Cook, president and CEO of 4eVentures in Chapin, has been named to the S.C. Independent Colleges and Universities board of trustees along with eight other state residents. They were elected at the Oct. 1 SCICU board meeting held at Anderson University.

“These individuals bring extensive experience, knowledge, and commitment to our organization’s mission, which is to advance independent higher education in South Carolina,” said Kathy McKinney, chair of the board.

Cook, president and CEO of 4e Ventures, returns to the board after a year’s absence. During his previous six years of service on the board, he chaired the Development Committee.

A graduate of Wofford College, he serves as a director for the Boys Farm Inc. in Newberry, is a member of the Michelin Development Steering Committee, and is a mentor for Clemson’s MBA-Entrepreneurship program. He lives in Chapin.

Also elected to the 62-member board were Jennet Robinson Alterman, president and CEO of J. Robinson Alterman LLC in Charleston; Tushar V. Chikhliker, shareholder with Nexsen Pruet in Columbia; Daniel S. Sanders, former president of ExxonMobile Chemical Company in Greenville; Gary L. Williams, founder of Williams & Fudge Inc. in Rock Hill; and Edward T. Zeigler Jr., president and CEO of Craig Gaulden Davis in Greenville.

The board also named Jim Reynolds of Columbia as the chair-elect.

Continuing in the position of board vice chairman is Dr. Evans Whitaker, president of Anderson University in Anderson. Whitaker is also the chairman of the SCICU Presidents’ Council.

Founded in 1953, SCICU is a non-profit organization which supports and promotes independent higher education through fund raising, scholarships, research, and by facilitating collaborative activities among the 20 member institutions: Allen, Anderson, Benedict, Charleston Southern, Claflin, Coker, Columbia, Converse, Columbia International, Erskine, Furman, Limestone, Morris, Newberry, North Greenville, Presbyterian Southern Wesleyan, Spartanburg Methodist, Voorhees and Wofford.